fun.k Fashionista

Standard

Spring break is just three days away! Are you done swimsuit shopping? When I’m on vacation, I spend a majority of the time in my swimsuit. Essentially, the swimsuit is the most important article of clothing you must pack for spring break. There are many places to shop online for swimsuits but it’s difficult because you are not able to try it on for size.  I have not found a store on campus that sells swimsuits; if you know somewhere please let me know! Wouldn’t be nice if someone could just design and make a swimsuit specifically for you?

I know what you’re thinking… Where would I find someone at Purdue to do this?

Krystal Anaya is here to solve all your “spring break swimsuit problems!” Krystal is a senior at Purdue studying retail management. She is originally from Newport Beach, California. She started her swimsuit company “fun.k” in July of 2009. All of her swimsuits are handmade and unique in their own “fun.k=funky” kind of way. Krystal recently attended the CSR Career Conference here at Purdue to display her swimsuit collection and talk about her company. She makes all different types and styles of swimsuits, including children’s swimwear.

Anyone can order a swimsuit by simply e-mailing her at kanaya@purdue.edu or visiting the fun.k Facebook page. She will be making many swimsuits this week, so put your order in before it’s too late! Krystal will continue to design and create swimsuits on campus until she graduates in May. Schedule an appointment to meet with her and get your very own fun.k swimsuit! Listen to what Krystal has to say about fun.k swimwear this week.

After I talked to Krystal, I thought it would be entertaining to watch her make a swimsuit in action. She brought all her supplies to my apartment, and we turned my kitchen table into her working space. It took her about 2 hours from start to finish, (which is conveniently equivalent to one episode of The Bachelor!)

I am now lucky enough to be a proud owner of my very own fun.k swimsuit! The process was simple:

  • First, Krystal took down all my measurements by using a tape measure.
  • I described the style of swimsuit I was looking for (it is much easier if you print off some pictures.)
  • She showed me a selection of many different colors and printed fabrics to choose from.
  • Krystal began to sew away!
  • Every now and then she would have me try on the swimsuit for size adjustments.
  • After adding a few final touches… the swimsuit was complete and fit perfectly!
About Courtney Cox

I am currently a senior studying Retail Management at Purdue University. Fashion has always been my main interest. My past experience in the fashion industry both domestic and abroad has given me the opportunity to stay updated in the lastest trends.

Leave a Reply

