History of Ugg-ly

Standard

It’s winter time at Purdue and of course everyone is bringing out their Ugg boots. (I call them ugg-ly) They may be comfortable and warm, but they look like oversized slippers to me. These unisex sheepskin boots are everywhere on campus! I never really understood how they became a popular trend, so I decided to do a little research.

Ugg boots aren’t just a fad of our generation. As much as I want them to disappear and never come back, they actually have some interesting history behind them.

*Did you know “fug boots” were worn by pilots during World War I?

According to Wikipedia, sheepskin boots were known in rural Australia during the 1920s. The boots were referred to as “uggs” long before the word was trademarked. Frank Mortel of Mortels Sheepskin Factory claims he named them “ugg boots” in 1958, after his wife commented that the first pair he made were “ugly.” Then in the 1960s the boots were worn by surfers to keep their feet warm.

Ugg boots were originally made for warmth and comfort. They weren’t even considered fashionable until the trend emerged in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Ugg sales drastically reached $698 million in the U.S in 2008. I wish I could invent a shoe that would generate a profit like that!

Although I may not like the looks of these sheepskin Ugg boots, I must say it is very interesting how this trend evolved. Fashion has so much history behind it; a true Fashionista should not only be stylish but also know where the style came from.

photo credit

About Courtney Cox

I am currently a senior studying Retail Management at Purdue University. Fashion has always been my main interest. My past experience in the fashion industry both domestic and abroad has given me the opportunity to stay updated in the lastest trends.

Leave a Reply

